Call for Church Leadership

Sunday, January 1, 2017
Thursday, March 30, 2017

The 2017 Nominating Committee of First Presbyterian Church has begun discerning who God is calling to serve as elders, deacons, and the 2018 Congregational Nominating Committee. We seek the insight of members of the congregation to identify potential church leaders. According to the Book of Order, individuals called to these particular ministries should be persons of strong faith, dedicated discipleship, and love of Jesus Christ as Savior and Lord. Their manner of life should be a demonstration of the Christian gospel in the church and in the world. All nominees for Church Office and the Congregational Nominating Committee at First Presbyterian must be active and financially contributing members for at least one year prior to election (which occurs in September) with all terms beginning in January.

Terms of office are three years for elders and deacons, and one year for the Congregational Nominating Committee. Consecutive terms are generally not permitted, but officers are eligible for re-election one year after completion of a term. Officer training is provided between October and December. For a summary of the training and job descriptions for elders and deacons, please visit the Board of Deacons and Session (Governing Body) pages.

Submit your officer nomination here. Please submit your suggestions for nomination by March 30, or using a paper form found by the Nominating Committee box on the table outside the Church Office, or contact a committee member. The members of the 2017 Nominating Committee are Tom Brandt (Chair), Catalina Esquerra, Sean Hoskins, Lynne Laude, Tom McKarns, Bill Parker, Peter Santinga, Barry Swartz, Susan Sweet Scott, and Cynthia VanRenterghem.